Concealed Handgun Permit

Application Process
Completed applications must be submitted in person by appointment only.  Please call
970-728-1911 (ext 3) Monday through Thursday to schedule an appointment.  Please do not mail documents as these must be submitted in person.  

For new applications, you will be photographed and fingerprinted when you submit your application. This process may take up to 45 minutes so please allow sufficient time to complete the entire process.  Y
ou may download the following forms or pick one up from the Administrative Office Monday Through Thursday: 

Permit Address Change/ Lost or Stolen Card
Notification of a Change of Address must be made within 30 days.  Lost or Stolen permits must be reported within 3 business days.  These forms must be notarized.

Permit Requirements

  • Per C.R.S. 18-12-205 (IV), an applicant must provide proof of Colorado residency by providing a valid driver's license, Colorado ID or Military ID, along with permanent duty station orders for Colorado.
  • Per House Bill 14-1166 you must submit a concealed handgun permit application (new and renewal) to the county sheriff's office where you reside, own property or own a business.
  • If you currently have a concealed handgun permit with San Miguel County and you move to another Colorado county, you must submit an Address Change Form to our office.  When it comes time to renew your permit, you must renew with that county.  No exceptions will be be made.
  • If the address on the driver's license or ID doesn't match the application, the applicant is required to provide other proof of residency, such as a lease/rental agreement, property tax statement, utility bill or vehicle registration.
  • Per C.R.S. 42-2-119 (1) (a), whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a driver's license or motor vehicle registration number, moves from the address named in such application or in the license or registration issued to such person or when the name of the licensee is changed, such person shall within 30 days notify the department in writing of such person's old and new address, and the number of any license or registration held by such person.

Permit Renewal Requirements


It is the applicant's responsibility to submit for renewal of concealed handgun permit within 120-days before the expiration date on the permit card.  If your permit is more than six months expired you must begin the process with a new application, to include submitting the new application fee.

  • Per C.R.S. 18-12-205 (IV), an applicant must provide proof of Colorado residency by providing a valid driver's license, Colorado ID or Military ID, along with permanent duty station orders for Colorado.
  • You must complete and answer all questions on the Renewal Concealed Handgun Permit Application.  Do not sign the application; per Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) 18-12-205(2)(a), all applicants must sign the application in the presence of the issuing county sheriff or designee.
  • As long as your previous permit is with our office, you do not need another training certificate. The 'proof of firearms training' requirement on the back of the application does not pertain to San Miguel County renewal applicants.