As of April 11, 2011, M. Kathleen Erie County Clerk and Recorder was appointed to the Local Registrar position. All duties of the Local Registrar's office are now being done by the Clerk's office.
The Local Registrar issues birth certificates for applicants born in Colorado and death certificates for those who died in San Miguel County. The Local Registrar works under the direction and supervision of the Colorado State Registrar.
The Local Registrar is authorized to issue birth certificates for anyone born in Colorado. The Local Registrar is not authorized to issue death certificates for anyone who died in another County other than San Miguel County at this time. The Colorado Department of Health/State Registrar does not have death index for issuance of death certificates outside San Miguel County available online.
Applicants must present a valid and acceptable identification document to obtain a birth or death record.
Phone number: (970)728-3954
- Birth/Death Certificates
- State Registrar
- Fee Schedule
Phone: (970) 728-3954
Fax: (970) 728-4808
General Email: email@example.com
Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:15pm
305 W. Colorado Ave, 1st Floor
PO Box 548
Telluride, CO 81435
Kathleen Erie, County Clerk
Please contact the County Clerk's office for applications. Applications for a birth or death certificate should be filed with the Local Registrar in person, by letter or fax. The applicant must have a direct and tangible interest in the record requested. Picture identification is required by applicant. These records are confidential.
For Birth or Death Certificate information from the State of Colorado
Colorado Department of Health
Vital Records Division
4200 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530
To order birth or death certificates by credit card
$17.75 for any birth record search, includes first copy of birth certificate
$10 for additional copies with the same name, obtained at the same time
$20 for the first copy of any death certificate
$13 for additional copies with the same name, obtained at the same time
Click on a blue bar below to open a topic window.
Marriage licenses are issued to couples whose ceremony will take place in Colorado. Blood tests are not required. The license is valid for 30 days from the date it was obtained. There is no waiting period to use the license.
Marriage License Application
NOTE: This application is an example of what information and questions will be asked of you at the time of your application in person.
Hours: 8:30am - 4:15pm
License Fee: $30 - Cash or checks accepted
Obtaining a Certified copy of marriage license fee: $3
- Both parties must be present to apply for a marriage license and both must sign the application.
- Date of Birth
- Current Address
- Place of Birth
- Your Social Security Number (If you don't have an SSN, your passport will qualify)
- You do not have to be a US citizen to obtain a marriage license.
- Names and addresses of parents, living or deceased. You will also need your mother's maiden name.
- Marital status
If divorced, the date and the court where the final decree was issued must be provided.
If widowed, then the date you were widowed.
- Judges or retired judges
- Indian tribe officials
- Clergy (out of state clergy need not be registered in Colorado)
- Couples may solemnize their own ceremony
Witnesses are not required in the State of Colorado.
- For ages 18 and over, no parental consent is required.
- For ages 16 and 17, consent of both parents, or the parent or guardian having legal custody is required.
- For ages under 16, consent of parents or guardian and judicial approval are required.
- Proof of age is required to obtain a marriage license.
Copies of your Marriage License are available at the Clerk and Recorder's Office at a cost of $3.00. A copy of your drivers license is required to obtain a copy.
Statewide searches can be done at the website for the Colorado Department of Public Health (Vital Statistics)
Click on a blue bar below to open a topic window.
To obtain a liquor license in San Miguel County, please call the Clerk's Office and ask for Becky Goldsworthy. (970)-728-3954
For licenses within the towns of Telluride, Mountain Village, Sawpit or Norwood, please contact those towns directly.
All liquor licenses are valid for one year and must be renewed annually. Approximately 90 days prior to expiration, the Department of Revenue should send you your renewal forms. If you do not receive these, please contact Liquor Enforcement at 303-205-2300.
Please complete the renewal forms and return them to the San Miguel County Clerk's Office (not the state): San Miguel County Clerk's Office, PO Box 548, Telluride, CO 81435
Include two (2) checks with your renewal, one for the Colorado Department of Revenue and one for San Miguel County. Please contact the Clerk's Office for the renewal fees.
The process for a new license or to transfer ownership of an existing license can take anywhere from 60-90 days.
It is highly recommended that you meet with the Clerk's Office when completing your application, as there are many requirements that need to be met to obtain a liquor license. Failure to meet any of these requirements could delay the application process.
If you are a nonprofit agency and are planning to hold a liquor-related event at an establishment in San Miguel County that does not possess a liquor license, you must apply for a Special Events Permit. All applications must be received by the Clerk and Recorder’s office 60 days prior to the date of the event to allow for proper processing. Failure to do so will result in your application being denied. You may be asked to appear before the Board of County Commissioners.
Special Event Permit Fees are $10.00 if you plan to dispense 3.2% beer only, and $25.00 per day if you plan to dispense malt (regular beer), vinous, and spirituous liquors. You must pay these fees to both the state (Department of Revenue) and San Miguel County Clerk and Recorder.
All licensees possessing either a Hotel and Restaurant or a Tavern License are required to register their managers with local and state authorities. Should your designated manager cease to work for you, you must notify San Miguel County within five (5) days and register a new manager within thirty (30) days.
To register a manager complete the following forms:
- Report of Changes
- Individual History
- Fingerprint card